UC Berkeley NewsView of Campanile and Golden Gate Bridge
Today's news & events
News media center
Media: Sign up to get our news releases
Press Releases
Image downloads
Faculty experts and featured information
About UC Berkeley
People Finder
A-Z list of web sites
Campus map

Faculty experts

Campus shootings


Tom Goldstein
Director of media studies, former New York Times and Wall Street Journal reporter, author of "The News at Any Cost," and other books on the news media.
Professor Goldstein can discuss how the media treats violence.
Phone: (510) 643-986
Email: tomgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651. kmaclay@berkeley.edu

Bob Calo
Professor at UC Berkeley's Graduate School of Journalism and former producer with PBS, ABC and NBC, Calo covered the Columbine High School shootings in Colorado in 1999.
Phone: (510) 643-4645
Email: calo@berkeley.edu
Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510 643-5641, kmaclay@berkeley.edu


Jeff Prince
Director of counseling and psychological services, University Health Services
Phone: (510) 642-9494 (available starting Monday, April 23)

Gloria Saito
Clinical director of counseling and psychological services with University Health Services
Phone: (510) 642-9494


Stephen Hinshaw
Chair and professor of psychology
Hinshaw is an expert in psychopathology, depression and aggression
Phone: (510) 206-2295 (cell)
Email: hinshaw@berkeley.edu
Media Relations contact: Yasmin Anwar, (510) 643-7944, yanwar@berkeley.edu


C.J . Pascoe
Postdoctoral scholar with UC Berkeley’s Institute for the Study of Social Change.
Pascoe studies aggression in young men and studied the Columbine high school killings
Email: cjpascoe@berkeley.edu
Media Relations contact: Yasmin Anwar, (510) 643-7944, yanwar@berkeley.edu


Frank Zimring
Professor at UC Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall)
Zimring studies youth crime, violence in America, deterrence and gun control and has authored many books on these topics.
Phone:(510) 642-0854
Email: zimring@law.berkeley.edu
Law school media relations contact: Susan Gluss, 510-642-6936 or sgluss@law.berkeley.edu