University of California at Berkeley

Awards and Honors

Professor of chemistry Robert Bergman received the 1996 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Medal at the national meeting of the American Chemical Society this August.

Bergman was honored for his contributions to the understanding of ways to use natural resources and other products more efficiently.

The ACS is the world's largest scientific society, with a membership of 150,000 chemists and chemical engineers.

Bergman is known for what has been called the Bergman reaction, in which he was able to construct an unusual, highly reactive form of benzene.

Fifteen years after his esoteric finding, biologists discovered an antibiotic in mold that turned out to use the same mechanism to attack the DNA in cancer cells.

The findings of his basic research are now the basis for development of an anti-tumor agent.

The Society of Nuclear Medicine has presented Thomas F. Budinger, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, with the 17th annual Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Medicine Pioneer Award.

Budinger was honored for his contributions to the field of nuclear medicine and his pioneering application of tomography to magnetic resonance and nuclear medicine imaging.

Peter D. Cataldo, principal auditor in the internal audit department, has been named as a Certified Internal Auditor by the Institute of Internal Auditors.

The CIA designation is awarded to internal audit professionals who have met the rigorous requirements of the IIA's CIA program.

These include a four-part examination as well as high standards of character, education, and experience.

Cataldo was also awarded the designation Certified Fraud Examiner by the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners.

The association's Board of Regents awards this designation to select professionals who meet stringent standards of character, experience and education.

The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners also awarded the designation Certified Fraud Examiner to Eleanor C. Bonner, assistant director in the internal audit department. Bonner has been with the university for 11 years.

Professor Leon O. Chua, of electrical engineering and computer sciences, has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Santiago de Compostela.

Chua received the degree as part of the Spanish university's 500-year anniversary celebration and is the institution's first recipient of a honorary degree in the sciences.

Joanne Ikeda, nutrition education specialist in the Cooperative Extension of the Department of Nutrition Sciences, is the new president-elect of the 6,800-member California Dietetic Association, a statewide professional association for registered dietitians and other dietetics professionals.

April Kutger, executive officer of the Institute of Human Development, will be a presenter at the 1996 Annual Meeting of the Society for Research Administrators, to be held in October in Toronto. The paper, titled "Small is Possible," focuses on how to successfully implement a major reduction in administrative funding.

The American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education has named Roberta J. Park, professor of human biodynamics, the 1996 recipient of its Heatherington Award. Founded in 1930, the academy is an honorary organization for individuals who have made significant scholarly and professional contributions to the field of exercise and sports sciences.

The Cancer Research Fund of the Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell Foundation has awarded a three-year Runyon-Winchell postdoctoral fellowship to Kathleen M. Sullivan. The award will support her postdoctoral research, "A Genetic Analysis of Phosphoinositide Signaling in Drosophilia," sponsored by Gerald M Rubin, professor of molecular and cell biology.

Chancellor Tien was recently elected to the board of directors of the Raychem Corp.

Said Richard A. Kashnow, Raychem chairman and CEO: "Chancellor Tien's accomplishments as the leader of one of the world's leading research universities as well as his considerable contributions to the field of mechanical engineering make him a powerful addition to Raychem Corp.'s board of directors."

Tien is internationally recognized for his research in heat transfer technology.

Raychem, an international company based in Menlo Park, develops and manufactures high-performance products for electronics, industrial and telecommunications applications.

Jasmina Vujic, assistant professor of nuclear engineering, has been selected to receive the 1996 Prytanean Faculty Award.

The $10,000 award is given annually by the Prytanean Alumnae, a non-profit women's organization dedicated to the ideals of service to Berkeley students and excellence in education.

The award is given to an untenured woman faculty member in recognition of outstanding achievement.

It will be presented Sept. 23 at University House, the home of Chancellor Tien.

Vujic, whose research focuses on neutron transport modeling, joined the faculty in 1992 and directs the Advanced Nuclear Engineering Computational Laboratory.

Extension Honors Three Outstanding Instructors

Three longtime UC Extension instructors were recently presented the 1996 Honored Instructor Award in recognition of their extraordinary teaching achievements and contributions.

"Better than everything, she's excellent," is how one student describes Ellen Rosenfield, English language program instructor.

Rosenfield has taught in Extension's English-as-a-second- language program since its inception in 1974 and has served as the program's academic coordinator in Berkeley.

Her method of teaching English fluency rests on the notion of "paying attention to what Americans really say."

H. Westley Clark, an instructor and founding and current advisory committee member for the Certificate Program in Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies, is recognized this year for his contributions to curriculum development and for his loyal commitment to serving students in the classroom.

A respected leader in the field of educational technology, Marilyn Nicholson was one of Extension's first instructors in the Technology in Education certificate program, which began in 1984.

Nicholson is technology projects manager for the San Ramon Valley Unified School District and current president of the East Bay Chapter of the Computer Using Educators Association.

She is being honored for her innovative and ongoing contributions to the Technology in Education curriculum and for the expertise and enthusiasm she brings to the classroom.


Copyright 1996, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail