Awards and Honors

Arthur I. Blaustein, adjunct professor of city and regional planning, has been appointed to the National Council on the Humanities, the advisory board of the National Endowment for the Humanities. President Clinton made the announcement July 1.

Blaustein teaches social policy and community development at Berkeley, as well as literature and values at the California School of Professional Psychology. He currently serves as faculty adviser to the AmeriCorps program, on the board of the Center for Ethics and Economic Policy and on the editorial board of Social Policy.

From 1977 to 1981, Blaustein served as chair of the President's Advisory Council on Economic Opportunity. He was president of the National Economic and Development and Law Center from 1969 to 1984.

The National Council on the Humanities, consisting of 26 scholars and leaders appointed by the president, meets three times annually to advise the NEH chair on policy matters and the awarding of grants.

Werner Goldsmith, professor emeritus of mechanical engineering, has been elected an honorary member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the organization's highest honor.

An international authority on the collision of solid objects, Goldsmith's research focuses on head and neck injury and protection, rock mechanics, and dynamic material properties. In addition to recognizing Gold-smith's research accomplishments, the award honors him "in his roles as an educator, public servant, and legal consultant."

Goldsmith joined the faculty in 1947 and earned his PhD in mechanical engineering from Berkeley in 1949. He will be honored at the society's International Mechanical Engineering Congress in Dallas, Texas, in November.

Edward A. Lee, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, has received the 1997 Frederick Emmons Terman Award from the American Society for Engineering Education. Named for the founder of Stanford University's electrical engineering program, the Terman award recognizes professors under age 40 who have written a textbook and produced outstanding achievements in teaching and research.

Lee earned his PhD at Berkeley in 1986 and joined the Berkeley faculty that same year.

C.D. Mote Jr., vice chancellor-University Relations and former chair of Mechanical Engineering, has been honored by the American Society for Engineering Education with its 1997 Ralph Coats Roe Award. The award recognizes mechanical engineering educators known for excellence in teaching and notable contributions to the profession.

The award, named for a pioneer in the design and construction of highly efficient power plants and desalination processes, consists of $10,000, a plaque and travel expenses to the society's annual conference.

Mote is internationally recognized for his research on gyroscopic systems and the biomechanics of skiing injury. His research has resulted in more than 250 publications and patents. He has received numerous professional honors, including the Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award.

John Yoo, assistant professor of law, has been named a 1997 Salvatori Fellow by the Heritage Foundation, along with 18 other college and university professors and scholars from across the nation.

The program is run by the foundation's Salvatori Center for the Appreciation of the Founding Fathers. Fellows from a range of academic backgrounds study and discuss the ideas and principles that form U.S. political and cultural traditions.

The Heritage Foundation is a Washington-based think tank whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies.

Lotfi Zadeh, professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer sciences, was awarded the B. Bolzano Honorary Medal by the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. Zadeh, who serves as director of Berkeley Initiative in Soft Computing, was honored for his "outstanding achievements in fuzzy mathematics."

Zadeh received his PhD from Columbia University and joined the Berkeley faculty in 1959. He served as chair of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences from 1963-68.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail