Awards and Honors

Campus Biologist Named for World Food Prize

Ray Smith, professor emeritus in the Division of Insect Biology and one of the "founding fathers" of integrated pest management, is co-winner of the 1997 World Food Prize, the foremost international award recognizing outstanding individual achievements in improving the quality, quantity and availability of food in the world.

Smith shares the honor with Perry L. Adkisson, president emeritus of Texas A&M University. The pair split the $250,000 award, formally presented in October, and received sculptures created by renowned designer Saul Bass.

The World Food Prize was established by Norman E. Borlaug, who won the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize for his work in world agriculture, and was first awarded in 1987.

Smith served as chair of the College of Natural Resource's Department of Entomology from 1961 to 1973. His students have included such noted scientists as Robert Van Den Bosch, Vernon Stern, Daniel Jansen and K.S. Hagen. Smith follows another CNR scientist to receive the World Food Prize, former postdoc Hans Herren, who received the award in 1995.

Smith's many other past honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship and an honorary doctorate from the College von Dekanen, Wagening, The Netherlands.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail