The Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished
Professors in the Liberal Arts

The first five Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professors in the College of Letters and Science were appointed this fall.

These $1 million distinguished professorships, one in each of five divisions of the college were established last year by Richard N. Goldman, '41, and his late wife, Rhoda, '46. Goldman Professors are appointed for five-year terms, except for UGIS, where the term is one year.

Distinguished professorships are among the highest honors bestowed on members of the faculty. The appointments celebrate the careers of prestigious individuals, four of whom were already on the faculty and one of whom, Inez Fung, is new to Berkeley.

Richard Goldman '41, is seated. Left to right, standing, are Douglas Goldman '74; Prof. Anthony Cascardi (humanities), departments of comparative literature, rhetoric, and Spanish and Portuguese; Prof. Mary Ryan (UGIS), departments of history and women's wtudies; Prof. Jasper Rine (biological sciences), Department of Molecular and Cell Biology; Mrs. Douglas Goldman; Prof. George Akerlof (social sciences), Department of Economics; and John Goldman. Not pictured is Prof. Inez Fung (physical sciences), Department of Geology and Geophysics.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail