Berkeleyan Masthead

This Week's Stories

Science Giant Glenn Seaborg, 1912-1999

Celebrating Women Role Models and Their Inspirations

Berkeley Pledge Program Gets High Marks from Department of Education

Yuan T. Lee Receives Clark Kerr Award

Security Snafu Inspires Creative Comeback

Underground Utilities Upgrade Gets Underway

More About: Death, Devotion, Ritual and Rock 'n' Roll

Championing the Health of Children

Photo: They're Varsity Now

Photo: Lincoln Constance Turns 90

Photo: First Among Equals

Regular Features


Campus Calendar

News Briefs


Staff Enrichment



Posted March 3, 1999

Egor Popov

Egor Popov, professor in the graduate school, civil and environmental engineering, has been awarded the 1999 George W. Housner Medal,the most prestigious prize of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute.

The institute cited Popov's "lasting contributions to earthquake engineering through his distinguished career as an inspiring educator and his pioneering research on innovative concepts for design of new earthquake-resistant structures and retrofit of existing structures."

Popov joined the faculty in 1946 and has received many honors, including election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Three Outstanding Young Scientists Honored

Three Berkeley researchers were among 60 nationwide to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers announced Feb. 10 by President Clinton.

The campus scientists are Roya Maboudian, associate professor of chemical engineering; physicist Andrew Westphal, a senior fellow at Berkeley's Space Sciences Laboratory; and Krishna Niyogi, assistant professor of plant and microbial biology.

Established by Clinton in 1996, the awards are the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on young professionals at the outset of their independent research careers.

Maboudian, who has been at Berkeley since 1993, specializes in the study of surfaces at the microscopic and atomic level. Westphal, who received his PhD from Berkeley in 1992, has been investigating the origin and composition of cosmic rays. Niyogi, who received his PhD from MIT in 1993 and has been at Berkeley since 1997, studies ways of improving food crops and the environmental factors controlling plant productivity.

Seven Named AAAS Fellows

Seven Berkeley faculty have been elected fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, the largest scientific organization in the United States.

They are Alexander Glazer, professor of molecular and cell biology; Robert Lane, professor of environmental science and policy management; Lee Riley, professor in the School of Public Health; Richard Stephens, associate dean in the School of Public Health; Jeremy Thorner, professor of molecular and cell biology; Loy Volkman, professor of plant and microbial biology; and Robert S. Zucker, professor of neurobiology.


March 3 - 9, 1999 (Volume 27, Number 25)
Copyright 1999, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail