Berkeleyan Masthead

This Week's Stories

T.rex Comes Home

Campus Alive During Summer

Health Care Research Center Opens

Three from Berkeley Win MacArthur Fellowships

International Students Enjoy Summer Classes

Letter from the Chancellor

Regular Features


Campus Calendar

News Briefs




Posted July 14, 1999

Ian Carmichael

Professor of Geology and Director of the Lawrence Hall of Science Ian Carmichael has been elected a Fellow of The Royal Society in London. He has been further honored by the recent naming of a new mineral after him: carmichaelite, found in the 1,800-mile-thick upper mantle of the earth between the crust and the core.

Rebecca Heald

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology Rebecca Heald has won a PEW Scholars Trust Award in Biomedical Sciences for 1999. She will receive $200,000 over four years to support her research using DNA beads to study mitotic spindle assembly and function.

Sheila Humphreys

Academic Coordinator for the department of electrical engineering and computer sciences Sheila Humphreys has been honored with the 1999 A. Nico Habermann Award from the Computing Research Association. The annual award goes to an individual who has played a leadership role in aiding members of underrepresented groups within the computing research community.

April Kutger

Staff member April Kutger has been chosen president-elect of the Bay Area Chapter of the Society of Research Administrators for 1999-2000. Kutger is MSO II for the architecture department and has worked on campus for more than 15 years.

Ronald Lee

Professor of Demography Ronald Lee has received the 1999 Irene B. Taeuber Award. The biennial award recognizes either an unusually original or important contribution to the scientific study of population or an accumulated record of exceptionally sound and innovative research. It is jointly sponsored by Population Association of America and the Office of Population Research, Princeton University.

David Messerschmitt

Roger A. Strauch Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences David Messerschmitt has been awarded the 1999 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal. He was honored "for fundamental contributions to communications theory and practice, including VLSI for signal processing and simulation and modeling software" at the annual IEEE honors ceremony June 12 in London.

Anne Middleton

Professor of English Anne Middleton has received both an American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship and a Visiting Fellowship at All Souls College, Oxford. The fellowships will enable her to study the producers, patrons and owners of English legal and literary texts in the two generations before Chaucer.

John Prausnitz

Professor of Chemical Engineering John Prausnitz received the William Corcoran Award from the American Society for Engineering Education June 22 in recognition of his recently published article, "Chemical Engineering and the Other Humanities."

M. Kathryn Scott

M. Kathryn Scott, director of physical education, has received the 1999 Landreth Award -- the highest honor given by the California Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance. A national authority on first aid and aquatics, Scott has also been named to the American Red Cross's new 13-member Advisory Council on First Aid and Safety.

Gerald Vizenor

Professor of Native American and American Studies Gerald Vizenor received an honorary degree from Macalester College at the institution's 110th commencement May 23.


July 14 - August 17, 1999 (Volume 28, Number 1)
Copyright 1999, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail