Berkeleyan Masthead HomeSearchArchive

This Week's Stories

Laird Receives Berkeley Citation

An Interview With Bob Laird

Program to Track Global Traffic in Organs

Original Oski Recalls Mascot’s Glory Days

Helping Berkeley High Freshmen to Succeed

Will There Be Money Left in Social Security’s Stash When You Retire?

Photo IDs Are on Their Way

Campus Researchers Eagerly Visit Iran

Considerable Land Remains for Sonoma Vineyards to Expand, Computer Model Shows

Former Congressman Dellums Inaugurates Endowed Chair With Lecture

State’s Three Strikes Law Strikes Out

Regular Features




Campus Calendar


News Briefs



Posted November 10, 1999

Governor Gray Davis established the Council on Bioscience, Oct. 29, and among those named to the council were Dan Koshland, professor of molecular and cell biology, and Edward Penhoet, dean of the school of public health. The Council on Bioscience will advise the governor in areas such as research and development, public-private university partnerships, biotech workforce development and industry incentives.

The American College of Physicians/American Society of Internal Medicine named Patricia Buffler, professor of epidemiology and former dean of the School of Public Health, as this year's recipient of the James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine.

The granting organization, representing more than 90,000 physicians in general internal medicine and related subspecialties, is the nation's largest medical specialty society.

Three faculty members were inducted into the National Academy of Engineering on Oct. 3.

James Demmel, professor in the computer science division, was inducted for his contributions to numerical linear algebra and scientific computing. John Newman, professor of chemical engineering, was inducted for his contributions to applied electrochemistry and for their reduction to practice through advances in electrochemical engineering. Pravin Varaiya, professor of electrical engineer and computer science, was named for contributions to the theory of systems and control.

The American Anthropological Association recently awarded the 1999 Mayfield Prize for teaching to Jonathan Marks, for his sustained dedication to the teaching of anthropology.

The association created the Mayfield Teaching Award in 1997, to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching of anthropology. Nominees are evaluated based on their impact on students, student evaluations and teaching awards. Marks will receive the award at the association's 1999 annual meeting, to be held in Chicago, Nov. 17 - 21.



November 10 - 16, 1999 (Volume 28, Number 14)
Copyright 1999, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the
Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail