04 April 2001 |

Alex Filippenko
The Phi Beta Kappa Society has named Astronomy Professeor Alexei Filippenko as one of its 2001-2002 visiting scholars. Scholars named to the program travel to universities and colleges with Phi Beta Kappa chapters to meet with undergraduates, participate in classroom lectures and seminars and give a major address open to the community. Filippenko is president of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific and a fellow of the California Academy of Sciences, and was named a Presidential Young Investigator by the National Science Foundation.

Alexander Pines
Carnegie Mellon University will award its $50,000 Dickson Prize in Science to Chemistry Professor Alexander Pines, for his contributions to the field of nuclear magnetic resonance.
The Dickson Prize is awarded annually to individuals in the United States who make outstanding contributions to science. As part of this award, Pines will deliver the Dickson Prize lecture, titled “Some Magnetic Moments,” at the Mellon Institute in Oakland, April 11.

Pines is the Glenn T. Seaborg professor of chemistry, a chancellor’s research professor, and a senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

His past awards include the Wolf Prize in Chemistry, the Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award and the Bourke Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and past president of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance.

Terry Speed
Professor Terry Speed is one of 16 leading Australian scientists and technologists to be elected recently as a fellow by the Australian Academy of Sciences. Speed holds an appointment in Berkeley’s Department of Statistics in addition to his work as a senior principal research scientist at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research in Melbourne, Australia.

Robert Scalapino
Robert Scalapino, professor emeritus of political science and chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities, has received the 2001 Pacific Century Institute’s Building Bridges Award for his contributions to enhanced relations between Americans and Asians.

From 1949 to 1990, he taught in Berkeley’s Political Science Department and was department chair from 1962 to 1965. He was also the Robson Research Professor of Government from 1977 to 1990 and, in 1978, founded Berkeley’s Institute of East Asian Studies. He remained director of the East Asian institute until his retirement in 1990. Currently, he is the Robson Research Professor of Government Emeritus.

The Pacific Century Institute, which awards the honor each year, was founded in 1989 and is dedicated to enhancing understanding and communication among peoples of the Pacific Rim.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail