03 October 2001 |

Michael Chamberlin
Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology Michael Chamberlin has been named the winner of the Sigma Xi 2001 Monie A. Ferst Award.

The award is given to “a nationally prominent scientist who has made notable contributions to the motivation and encouragement of research through education, inspiriing his or her research colleagues to significant scientific achievements.”

A group of former graduate students nominated Chamberlin for the award, which comes with a medal and a $5,000 cash prize. A symposium and then dinner in Chamberlin’s honor will be held Oct. 6.

Troy Duster
The American Sociological Association has named Troy Duster as the winner of its 2001 DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award.

This annual award honors the intellectual traditions of W.E.B. DuBois, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. It is given for either a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community, or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

The award was presented Aug.19 in Anaheim at the association’s annual meeting.

Jay Enoch
Jay Enoch, professor and dean emeritus of the School of Optometry, has received the prestigioius Pisart Vision Award, given to individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to the prevention, cure, or treatment of severe vision impairment or blindness.

Clayton Heathcock, Don Tilley
Two Berkeley faculty will receive 2002 awards from the American Chemical Society.

The society’s Herbert C. Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods goes to Clayton Heathcock, dean of the College of Chemistry. Its ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry goes to Chemistry Professor Don Tilley.

The awards will be presented at the society’s 223rd national meeting, in Orlando, Fla., in April, 2002.

Ken Goldberg
Associate Professor Ken Goldberg, of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, received the Major Educational Innovation Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The award recognizes institute members who have produced distinguished innovation in an educational field appropriate to the mission of the organization.
Goldberg was named “for his pioneering work on Internet robotics and the influence that this has had on the education in robotics and advanced technologies at large.”

Edith Kramer
Pacific Film Archive Director and Film Curator Edith Kramer has been awarded The Royal Order of the Polar Star, Member First Class, by His Majesty Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. Kramer was honored for promoting Swedish films and culture in the United States.

Created in 1748, the award is presented to non-Swedish citizens by the Swedish government. It recognizes civic merit, scientific accomplishment, literary and scholarly work, creation of new initiatives of importance to the Kingdom of Sweden, and personal services rendered to Sweden.

George Leitmann
George Leitmann, the Elizabeth and Roscoe Hughes Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering and Professor in the Graduate School, was honored by the International Society for Dynamic Games. The society dedicated its annual workshop on Dynamic Games and Applications, held in July 2001 in Cargese, Corsica, to Leitmann.

Arun Majumdar
Professor of Mechanical Engineering Arun Majumdar will receive the 2001 Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers International. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering. Majumdar will accept his award in November at the International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition in New York City.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail