10 October 2001 |

Eva Nogales
Eva Nogales, assistant professor of molecular and cell biology, has been elected to the council of the Biophysical Society. One of seven distinguished biophysicists elected, she will serve a three-year term, from 2002 to 2004.

Christos Papadimitriou
Christos Papadimitriou, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences and associate chair, Computer Science Division, received a special award for making the most influential worldwide contribution to the foundations of computing by a scientist of Greek origin.

The award is given on an ad hoc basis by the Greek Computer Society and the Council of the Computer Technology Institute. The award was presented July 9 at the 33rd Annual Association for Computing Machinery Symposium on Theory of Computing in Heraklion, Crete.

Yuval Peres
The 2001 Line and Michel Ločve International Prize in Probability has been awarded to Yuval Peres, professor of mathematics and statistics.

The prize was established to honor the later Michel Ločve, who was a distinguished professor in the statistics department. It is awarded every two years to a person under 45 with an impressive research record, as judged by an international committee of renowned probabilists.

The prize consists of a $30,000 monetary award and a citation. Peres will accept the award at a campus ceremony Oct. 5.

Beth Simmons
The American Political Science Association has named Beth Simmons, associate professor of political science, as recipient of its Heinz Eulau Award. Simmons was honored for her article “Increasing Returns, Path Dependence, and the Study of Politics,” which appeared in the December 2000 issue of American Political Science Review.

In 1995 her book “Who Adjusts? Domestic Sources of Foreign Economic Policy During the Interwar Years,” won the award for the best book published in the previous year in government, politics or international relations.

Ignacio Tinoco
The Biophysical Society has named Ignacio Tinoco, professor of chemistry and a researcher at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, as a 2002 fellow. Fellows are distinguished society members who have demonstrated excellence in science and have played a role in the expansion of the field of biophysics. Tinoco was named for his seminal work in the RNA structure and the thermodynamics and kinetics of RNS folding.

Paul Wright
Paul Wright, professor of mechanical engineering and and associate dean of the College of Engineering, will receive the M. Eugene Merchant Textbook Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers Education Foundation. The award, recognizing outstanding manufacturing textbooks published in North America, cites his book, “21st Century Manufacturing,” published by Prentice Hall.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail