31 October 2001 |

Russell Jones
Plant and Microbial Biology Professor Russell Jones has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election is based on “meritorious contributions to the advancement of science or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Jones’ work has contributed to several areas of plant research, including the effects of plant hormones on seed germination and growth, signal transduction and programmed cell death.

Catherine Koshland
Catherine Koshland, professor of environmental health sciences and the Wood-Calvert Professor of Engineering, began a two-year term on the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board on Oct. 1. Named to the board by EPA administrator Christine Todd Whitman, Koshland is serving as a member of the Integrated Human Exposure Committee.

The board is a group of distinguished scientists, engineers and economists who are prominent, non-government experts in their fields. Board members are drawn from academia, industry, state government and environmental communities throughout the U.S.

Waverly Lowell
Archivist Waverly Lowell, of the College of Environmental Design Archives, and Kelcy Shepherd of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, received the Society of American Archivists’ 2001 C.F.W. Coker Award for their guide, “Standard Series of Architecture and Landscape Design Records: A Tool for Arrangement and Descriptions of Archival Collections.” Shepherd and Lowell received their award at the SAA’s 65th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Coker Award recognizes innovative development in archival description, or descriptive tools that enable archivists to produce more effective finding aids.

As one nominator noted, “The authors do a wonderful job of showing how, in the specific area of records of architects and landscape designers, the career patterns and records production of individuals and firms lend themselves quite well to a standardized series organization.”

Kirby Moulton
The International Organization of Vines and Wines (OIV) has awarded the OIV Prize for 2001 to College of Natural Resources emeritus Cooperative Extension Specialist Kirby Moulton and James Lapsley for the book they co-edited, “Successful Wine Marketing.”

In presenting the award, the organization cited the book’s major contribution in assembling creative examples of wine marketing, drawn from the presentations of “on the street” experts to the annual Wine Marketing Course at UC Davis. The group also cited the link between these marketing examples and the basic principles underlying them, demonstrating how they can be applied to markets throughout the world.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail