Campus honors 43 staff members with Excellence in Management Awards

05 June 2002 | Staff picks for outstanding examples of “Leadership in Challenging Times” received the Berkeley Staff Assembly’s 2002 Excellence in Management Award in a sometimes boisterous ceremony May 23.

Award-winning supervisors and managers and some 350 of their devoted staff packed the International House auditorium to receive their awards from Vice Chancellor Horace Mitchell.

The occasion was not a decorous one. Ignoring words of caution against excess, enthusiastic staff members leapt from their seats to cheer, toot noisemakers and kazoos and unfurl banners as their bosses’ names were called. Some wore party hats. Chancellor Berdahl, who gave a congratulatory keynote address, and BSA staff members Marilyn Barulich and Barbara Hadenfeldt lent some dignity to the proceedings.

The 43 outstanding awardees are as follows:

Spencer Brucker, Applied Computing and Information Systems, University Extension; Cynthia Clearwater, Hearst Museum of Anthropology; Phil Cody, Physical Plant–Campus Services, Grounds Services; Diane Correa, Development Communications, University Relations; Teresa Costantinidis, Haas School of Business; Carol Dudley, Physics; Linda Erskine, Vice Chancellor–Business & Administrative Services; Jerilyn Foushee, International & Area Studies Dean’s Office; Helen Gaffney, Clark Kerr Infant Center; Patrick Goff, Environment, Health and Safety; Gail Grogan, Public Health Dean’s Office; Eric Haemer, Physical Plant–Campus Services; Doris Harris, Physical Plant–Campus Services, Accounting; Maryellen Himell, Undergraduate Affairs Development and Community Relations; Laurel Holland, Institute for Environmental Science & Engineering; Karen Holtermann, University Communications, Public Affairs; Sharon Jacks, Physical Plant—Campus Services, Payroll; Ben James, Housing & Dining, Unit 3; Homa Khamsi, Labor Occupational Health Program, Public Health; Rosemary Kim, Development Operations, University Relations; James Lee, Public Safety and Transportation; Leslie Leonard, Letters & Science Dean’s Office; Eddie Malone, Housing and Dining, Residence Hall Assignments; David Martinelli, UC Library Bindery; Stephanie Miller-Lamb, Student Musical Activities; Melanie Moonsamy, Athletic Study Center; Patricia Paige, Early Childhood Education Program; Suzanne Pierce, Physics; Mary Popylisen, Physical Therapy, University Health Services; Michele Rabkin, Consortium for the Arts/Arts Research Center; Minnie Reyes, Environment, Heath and Safety, Public Health; Amy Robinson, Bioengineering; Colleen Rovetti, University Events and Ceremonies, University Relations; Charlotte Rubens, Interlibrary Services; Michael Sawyers, Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreational Sports; Abby Scott, Haas School of Business Career Center; Melanie Seepol, Mathematics; Alex Shtromberg, Chemistry; Edward Tom, Boalt Hall School of Law, Admissions Office; Linda von Hoene, GSI Teaching and Resource Center, Graduate Division; Walter Wong, Office of the Registrar; Jutta Wiemhof, Northern Regional Library Facility; John Zilber, Capital Projects/Project Management.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2002, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail