25 September 2002 |

Social sciences to honor four faculty members for teaching and service
The Division of Social Sciences in the College of Letters and Science annually recognizes outstanding social science faculty members for their contributions to teaching and service.

The newly named recipients of the 2001-02 distinguished teaching awards from the division are Professors Dacher Keltner, psychology; John McWhorter, linguistics; and Kenneth Wachter, demography. The division’s distinguished service award honors tenured or tenure-track faculty members who have been particularly generous, effective, and responsible in serving their departments and the wider campus. This year’s recipient is Professor of Linguistics Larry Hyman.

Each award winner will receive an honorarium of $3,000. A by-invitation reception honoring the four will be held on Friday, Oct. 11, in the Women’s Faculty Club lounge.

Robert Bea
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering Robert Bea has been elected to the Offshore Energy Center’s Hall of Fame. Bea was named a “technology pioneer” for his career contributions to reliability-based design of marine structures.

Carlos Daganzo
Institute of Transportation Studies faculty member Carlos Daganzo has been named chair of the advisory committee of the International Symposium on Transportation and Traffic Theory. The symposium, held every three years, is the oldest meeting devoted exclusively to the scientific aspects of transportation and traffic phenomena — from traffic-flow theory to road safety and logistics.

Thomas Dandelet
The Sixteenth-Century Studies Conference has awarded its 2001 Roland Bainton Prize to Thomas Dandelet, assistant professor of history. The award is for “Spanish Rome, 1500-1700,” published by Yale University Press. He will accept the award in October in San Antonio, Texas.

Based on notary records, wills, diplomatic correspondence, intellectual treatises, literature, and descriptions of ritual life, “Spanish Rome” traces how the city of Rome was reshaped in the early modern period by its relationship with the Spanish empire. A Spanish translation of the book will be published later this year.

Dean Toste
Assistant Professor of Chemis-try Dean Toste has received a Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award for 2002. These highly competitive awards are designed to help “outstanding scientists to realize their promise as educators.”

Toste’s research group focuses on developing catalysts and catalytic reactions and methods for organic synthesis. They are interested in using these methods to address problems in the synthesis of complex molecules possessing interesting structural, biological, and physical properties.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2002, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail