UC Berkeley NewsView of Campanile and Golden Gate Bridge
Today's news & events
Berkeleyan home
Berkeleyan archive
News by email
For the news media
Calendar of events
Top stories
Untitled Document


08 October 2003

Jonathan Berk
Jonathan Berk, the Harold Furst Associate Professor of Management Philosophy and Values at the Haas School of Business, has won a $10,000 prize from the International Center for Financial Asset Management and Engineering.

The nonprofit foundation, based in Geneva, Switzerland, awards its Research Prize each year to an outstanding working paper in financial asset management or financial engineering. Berk was recognized for a paper entitled “Mutual Fund Flows and Performance in Rational Markets,” which he co-authored with Richard Green, professor of economics and management at Carnegie Mellon University.

Douglas Clark
The American Institute of Chemical Engineers has awarded two honors to Professor of Chemical Engineering Douglas Clark — its Food Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Award and the Amgen Award in Biochemical Engineering. Clark is known for his biochemical engineering research, with a focus on enzyme technology and bioactive materials.

Reinhard Genzel
Four winners of the 2003 Balzan Prize for science and humanities were announced Sept. 9 at the International Balzan Foundation’s headquarters in Milan. Among them was Reinhard Genzel, a Berkeley astrophysicist who investigates physical processes in the nuclei of galaxies and studies star formation and active nuclei in luminous distant galaxies. Each prize carries a cash award of 1 million Swiss francs, or approximately $709,000.

Genzel, who served on the Berkeley faculty from 1981 to 1986, returned last year, as a part-time faculty member, to set up a new research effort in experimental infrared astrophysics and to further scientific cooperation between astrophysicists at Berkeley and Germany’s Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestial Physics, which he directs. The award ceremony will take place Nov. 7 in the Federal Parliament Buildings in Bern, Switzerland.

Darleane Hoffman
Nuclear chemist Darleane Hoffman has been named the recipient of Sigma Xi’s 2003 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement. She will deliver the annual Procter Prize Lecture at the society’s forum and annual meeting in Los Angeles in November.

A recipient of the 1997 National Medal of Science, Hoffman is an internationally recognized authority on the heaviest elements — those much heavier than uranium and plutonium that typically decay to lighter elements very quickly. She holds joint appointments as professor of the graduate school in Berkeley’s chemistry department and at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Enrique Iglesia
Chemical engineering professor Enrique Iglesia has been named winner of the 2003 R.H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering, sponsored by ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company. Iglesia is widely recognized for his work on the synthesis of inorganic structures and on their function as catalysts used in refining, energy conversion, petrochemical synthesis, and environmental protection.

Richard Newton
The EDA Consortium has named Richard Newton, dean of Berkeley’s College of Engineering, this year’s recipient of the Phil Kaufman Award. The consortium is an international association of companies involved in electronics design automation, which provides tools and services used by engineers to create electronic products.

The Kaufman Award honors individuals who have made substantial, sustained contributions to the industry. Newton was named for his support and contributions, including the pioneering work behind the success of many of today’s commercial EDA products.
The award will be presented to Newton Oct. 23 in San Jose, at the consortium’s annual award ceremony.

Robert Taylor
Professor Emeritus of Civil and Environmental Engineering Robert Taylor is one of three recipients of the 2003 Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Awards, presented annually by the College of Engineering. A pioneer in computational mechanics, Taylor is noted for developing an internationally used computer program for analyzing the design of structures. At Berkeley, Taylor earned his B.S. in 1956, M.S. in 1958, and Ph.D. in 1963, the same year he joined the faculty. He received the alumni honor Sept. 13 at a campus luncheon at Hearst Memorial Mining Building.

Cindy Cox, Edmund Campion
The American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers (ASCAP) has honored Cindy Cox and Edmund Campion, both associate professors of music, with its annual award for composition. The award recognizes the excellence of each composer’s catalog of original compositions. Cox’s compositions range from chamber works to a recent piece for trombone and live electronics. Campion, who has been composer-in-residence for Berkeley’s Center for New Music and Audio Technologies (CNMAT), is noted for his application of computer and related technologies to music. Recipients of the ASCAP awards are chosen by an independent panel, which includes musicians, academicians, journalists and music critics, and broadcasters.

AAAS to induct 13 from Berkeley
When 13 new fellows from Berkeley are inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in Cambridge, Mass., on Saturday, Oct. 11, they will join the ranks of such historical figures as John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Alexander Graham Bell.

The academy, which dates back to 1780, brings together leading intellectual lights to propose policy alternatives as well as to promote public engagement through meetings and to mentor a new generation of scholars.

Berkeley’s new fellows are Charles Altieri, professor of English; Carolyn Bertozzi, professor of chemistry and of molecular and cell biology; Henry Brady, professor of political science and of public policy and director of UC Data Archive and Technical Assistance (UC DATA); Thomas Brady, Jr., professor of history; William Dietrich, professor of earth and planetary science; Jennifer Doudna, professor of molecular and cell biology and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; Lawrence Craig Evans, professor of mathematics; Donald Glaser, professor in the graduate school in molecular and cell biology and physics; a staff scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; Iain Johnstone, professor of statistics and biostatistics; William Kahan, professor of mathematics and of electrical engineering and computer sciences; Harry Scheiber, director of the Earl Warren Legal Institute at the School of Law (Boalt Hall) and the Stefan A. Riesenfeld Professor of Law and History; Martin Trow, professor in the graduate school and emeritus chair in the Goldman School of Public Policy; and Marvalee Wake, professor of integrative biology.

The new Berkeley inductees will swell the campus total to 229 AAAS members. The 2003 class of AAAS electees includes 187 new fellows and 29 foreign honorary members. Some of the luminaries in the class of 2003 include U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan, broadcast journalist Walter Cronkite, Pulitzer Prize-winning physicist Donald Glaser, novelist Michael Cunningham, and artist Cindy Sherman.