UC Berkeley News


Do you believe in miracles?

25 February 2004


ice hockey team

Susan Katzen photo

Berkeley’s American Collegiate Hockey Association club had never finished first in the nine-year history of the league — until last Friday. That night, the Golden Bears defeated the heavily favored USC Trojans by a score of 3-2, ending the SoCal squad’s four-year reign as conference champs. That triumph came one night after the Berkeley team defeated the No. 2 Washington Huskies, 4-1.

Head Coach Cyril Allen, Pac 8 Coach of the Year last season (the conference is minus Arizona and Oregon State), is justifiably proud of his team, which was winless when he took over the program three years ago. Cele-brating after the victory, are (front row, from left) Sean Haq, Brad Buss, Justin Edwards, Greg Cutler; (second row) Amir Moazeni, Sam Libeu, James Yim, Justin Edwards, team captain Chris Dang; (third row) William Tsai, Coach Allen (holding trophy), Bryce Kurtz-Fenster, Eric Bansal, Francois Pellerin; (fourth row) Chris Moulton, Jason Katzen, Jeff Maisen, Rob Cassaras, Chase Krieger, Dylan Taylor, Bryan Farris, John Riley, Jeff Murphy, Tony Arieta.

As befits a joyous hockey squad, row numbers are approximate.