UC Berkeley News



22 July 2004

Regents Junior Faculty fellows named
Recipients of Regents Junior Faculty Fellowships for 2004-05 have been announced by Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Faculty Welfare Jan de Vries. The fellowships provide summer salary awards in the amount of $5,000 for junior faculty. The recipients (and their departments) are as follows:

Anne G. Walsh, Art Practice; Michael Rubenstein, English; Kristen Whissel, Film Studies; Maria Mavroudi, History/Classics; Jodi Halpern, Public Health; John Glaser, Public Policy; Irene Bloemraad, Sociology; Natalia Brizuela, Spanish and Portuguese; Estelle Tarica, Spanish and Portuguese; Charis Thompson, Women’s Studies.

Hiroshi Nikaido
Hiroshi Nikaido, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, has received the 14th annual Bristol-Myers Squibb “Freedom to Discover” Award for Distinguished Achievement in Infectious Diseases Research. Nikaido was recognized for his groundbreaking contributions to understanding the mechanisms of bacterial resistance to antibiotics and insights that have led to the design of more effective antibiotics.

The award, which consists of a $50,000 cash prize and a silver commemorative medallion, is part of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Freedom to Discover Unrestricted Biomedical Research Grants and Awards Program, initiated in 1977. It is awarded annually in each of six therapeutic areas by Bristol-Myers Squibb, a global pharmaceutical and health-care-products company. Nikaido will receive his award at a dinner to be held in New York City on Oct. 14.

Educational Technology Services
Victor Edmonds, director of Educational Technology Services (ETS), accepted the New Media Consortium (NMC) Center for Excellence Award on behalf of the service unit at a June 18 ceremony at the University of British Columbia. ETS, one of three recipients of NMC’s highest honor, was recognized for its “exemplary support of faculty.”

NMC, an international consortium of colleges, universities, and museums, gives the award to “recognize demonstrated excellence and outstanding achievement in the application of technology to learning or creative expression,” according to the group’s press release.

The Bancroft Library
The digital library exhibit Bear in Mind: The California Grizzly Bear at The Bancroft Library
(bancroft.berkeley.edu/Exhibits/bearinmind) was honored as “best electronic exhibition” at the recent meeting of the American Library Association in Orlando, Fla. The chronicle of the extinction of the California grizzly bear, which includes numerous rare and unique images and descriptions selected from The Bancroft’s holdings, was one of more than 25 projects submitted for judging, including presentations from Brown University, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian Institution, and UCLA.

The digital exhibit was prepared by Bill Brown and Susan Snyder of The Bancroft Library and by Brooke Dykman of the UC Berkeley Library’s Digital Publishing Group.

This marks the second time that an electronic exhibition produced at The Bancroft Library has been recognized by the ALA. In 2003, The Bancroft’s digital exhibition Images of Native Americans (bancroft.berkeley.edu/Exhibits/nativeamericans) received a Special Commendation from the ALA Award Committee.

Karl S. Pister
Karl S. Pister, a key figure in shaping engineering education nationwide, is the 2004 winner of the TAM Distinguished Alumni Award, sponsored by the Department of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (TAM), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and the TAM Alumni Association Board of Directors. The former Dean of the College of Engineering at Berkeley and retired Chancellor of UC Santa Cruz was cited for his “lifelong dedication to research and engineering education.” UIUC previously honored Pister when he won the College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award in 1982.

Pister, a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, retired from the UC system in 1996 after more than four decades of service.