UC Berkeley News



03 June 2005

Chancellor's Service Awards
The Chancellor's Service Awards were presented on May 4 at the Berkeley YWCA.

Professor of Chemistry Angelica Stacy received the Faculty Service Award for co-founding the Chemistry 100 "Communicating Science" program, which engages 90 Berkeley elementary-school students in science. Stacy also co-chairs a campus committee that is starting up a local charter school to provide underserved populations of students with an "early college" preparation and strong college-going focus.

Professor of Environmental Science, Policy and Management Dara O'Rourke received the Faculty Service-Learning Award for developing the Environmental Science/Sociology service-learning course ESPM 163AC/Sociology 128AC, Environmental Justice. The course enrolls 125 students each semester in an active, experiential service-oriented learning process. Students work four to five hours each week in local nonprofit agencies to analyze and help resolve cases of environmental injustice.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentorship of Graduate Student Instructors
Sponsored by the Graduate Council's Advisory Committee for GSI Affairs and the GSI Teaching and Resource Center, the Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentorship of GSIs is an annual award presented to faculty members who have provided outstanding pedagogical mentorship to GSIs.

Dana Buntrock, associate professor of architecture; Ole Hald, professor of mathematics; John McNamara, an art practice lecturer; and Steven Vogel, associate professor of political science, are the 2004-05 awardees. They were honored in a ceremony last month, along with approximately 200 GSIs who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OGSI) Award. For the names of OGSI awardees, visit gsi.berkeley.edu/awards/ogsi.html

Teaching Effectiveness Award
Each year the Graduate Council's Advisory Committee for GSI Affairs and the GSI Teaching and Resource Center sponsor the Teaching Effectiveness Award (TEA). The TEA honors a small number of outstanding graduate-student instructors who have made a significant contribution to teaching and learning in their departments through their identification of and response to a problem that they have faced in their own classes, laboratories, and sections.

Fifteen graduate student instructors were honored at a ceremony last month: Badr Albanna (physics), Aubrey Clayton (mathematics), Christie Dowling (civil and environmental engineering), Oron Frenkel (public health), Amy Lerman (political science), Michael Markham (music), Karen McNeill (history), Vasudha Paramasivan (South and Southeast Asian studies), Kathryn Peek (astronomy), Timothy Randazzo (ethnic studies), Alejandro Reyes Arias (Latin American studies), Christopher Rider (business administration), William Short (classics), Richard Keith Slotkin (plant and microbial biology), and Benjamin Yost (rhetoric).

To read the essays the GSIs submitted describing the problem they identified in teaching and learning, the strategy they implemented to address it, and the means by which they addressed the effectiveness of the solution, visit gsi.berkeley.edu/awards/tea_index.html.