UC Berkeley News


Berkeley Staff Assembly to celebrate managerial excellence
Staff organization will also acknowledge its own first quarter century at May 15 ceremony

| 03 May 2006

The Berkeley Staff Assembly will hold its Excellence in Management (EIM) awards ceremony at noon, Monday, May 15, in International House's Chevron Auditorium. The annual event this year celebrates 34 stellar managers, as well as BSA itself, which is 25 this year. BSA is a staff organization open to all employees.

Recipients of the 2006 Excellence in Management Award

Barbara Ando, Lawrence Hall of Science
Martin Backstrom, Institute of East Asian Studies
Lisa Frederiksen Bolivar, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
Denise Boyd, Haas School of Business
Donna Bridges, Energy and Resources Group
Zane Cooper, Haas School of Business
Brandon DeFrancisci, Office of Environment, Health and Safety
Scott Dinkelspiel, Human Resources
Dave Duer, The Library
Hamid Ehya, UC Extension
Greg Haet, Office of Environment, Health and Safety
Alan Hand, Physical Plant
Della Hill, Residential and Student Service Programs
Mary Kelleher-Jones, School of Law
Cynthia Kennon, College of Engineering
Sandra Ketchpel, Goldman School of Public Policy
Miho Komai, Lawrence Hall of Science
Rich Lau, Office of Human Resources
David MacFarland, Environmental Design Library
Kristi Mares, Business Services
Taun Miller Wright, University Relations
Lourdes Miranda, College of Letters and Science
Teresa Ochoa, Physical Plant
Moira Perez, Graduate Division
Sandra Rehling, College of Chemistry
Colleen Rovetti, University Relations
Maria Santana, UC Extension
Kathy Schermerhorn-Cousens, College of Engineering
Alix Schwartz, Undergraduate and Interdisciplinary Studies
Terry Strathman, Undergraduate Research
Mike Weinberger, Recreational Sports
Antoinette Whittle-Ciprazo, African American Studies
Joel Wishnoff, Capital Projects
John Zilber, Capital Projects

Campus VIPs scheduled to attend the event include Chancellor Birgeneau, Associate Vice Chancellor for Health and Human Services Steve Lustig, and Vice Chancellor for Administration Nathan Brostrom. The chancellor will present a certificate of appreciation honoring the staff association's long years of service to the campus community.

This year's theme for the EIM Award program, now in its 18th year, is "Celebrating Managers Who Celebrate Staff." Recipients are nominated by staff they supervise. In selecting this year's honorees, the committee looked for managers who work to create a diverse and inclusive workforce at Berkeley, support flexible or non-traditional working arrangements, foster staff development and growth, encourage creative problem-solving, and/or recognize staff and encourage teamwork.

The staff organization's history dates back to September 1981. Its roots go back nearly a decade more, to the Organization for Creative Management (formed by campus managers in 1972) and several subsequent staff organizations.

25 years of achievement for BSA

BSA is credited with launching a number of projects and programs aimed at creating a positive relationship between staff and administration at Berkeley and fostering development and opportunities for staff. Its accomplishments include a mentoring program (recognized with a 2005 Chancellor's Outstanding Staff Award), a career-development handbook (created in the early '90s), the Staff Internship Program, a scholarship program, and the EIM Award. BSA helped form the Chancellor's Staff Advisory Committee (which in turn advocated creation of a Staff Ombuds Office). It also has two representatives on the systemwide Council of the University of California Staff Assemblies.

For details on the EIM Award ceremony, contact Susan Cass (scass@berkeley.edu, 643-3155). For information on BSA, including how to join, visit bsa.berkeley.edu. Annual membership is $15; the first year's membership is free.