UC Berkeley NewsView of Campanile and Golden Gate Bridge
Today's news & events
News by email
For the news media
Calendar of events
Top stories
Untitled Document
Press Release

AAAS announces 2003 fellows, including six UC Berkeley faculty scientists

– Six scientists at the University of California, Berkeley, were named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) today, bringing to 170 the total number of UC Berkeley faculty elected since 1982.

Election as a fellow of AAAS, the world's largest general federation of scientists and the publisher of the journal Science, is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers, and was awarded this year to 348 members across the country "because of their efforts to advance science or applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to a press release from the organization.

The new fellows from UC Berkeley are:

Thomas C. Alber, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and member of the Physical Biosciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: For contributions to the fields of biochemistry and crystallography, particularly for genetic analyses of protein interactions.

Thomas W. Cline, professor of genetics and development in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology: For fundamental studies of sex determination in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, particularly for work on the master regulatory switch gene, sex-lethal.

Paul W. Ludden, professor and dean of the College of Natural Resources: For research elucidating regulation of nitrogenase activity, biosynthesis of the iron-molybdenum cofactor of nitrogenase, and mechanisms of carbon monoxide metabolism in microorganisms.

David H. Raulet, Choh Hao Li Professor of Immunology in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology: For work on lymphocyte biology, particularly for studies of lymphocyte development and receptor-mediated recognition of pathogens and cancer cells by T and natural killer cells.

Jasper Rine, Richard and Rhoda Goldman Professor of Genetics and Development in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology: For fundamental work on gene regulation in the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, particularly for studies relating origins of DNA replication to the establishment of domains with different translational states.

Douglas S. Clark, professor of chemical engineering and associate faculty scientist in the Applied Science Division of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: For research, educational, and technological contributions to enzyme technology and biocatalysis, cultivation and physiology of extremophiles, and metabolic engineering of mammalian cells.

The new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin Saturday, Feb. 14, at the Fellows Forum during the 2004 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Wash.

This year's AAAS Fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science tomorrow (Oct. 31).

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups from the association's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the chief executive officer.

Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section, and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies.