UC Berkeley NewsView of Campanile and Golden Gate Bridge
Today's news & events
News by email
For the news media
Calendar of events
Top stories
Untitled Document
Media Advisory

Berkeley's Nobel tradition celebrated by five past laureates

27 September 2005

ATTENTION: Editors and producers, science desks

Contact: Robert Sanders
(510) 643-6998 rsanders@berkeley.edu

On the eve of the announcement of this year's crop of new Nobel Prize winners, five of the University of California, Berkeley's past laureates will gather to discuss how the prize affected their lives and their research.

The discussion, "Berkeley's Nobel Tradition," is one of many events taking place this weekend as part of UC Berkeley's homecoming celebration, and is being held in conjunction with the San Francisco Exploratorium's exhibit, "The Nobel Prize: 100 Years of Creativity."

4:30 to 6 p.m. Friday, Sept. 30

Bechtel Engineering Center, Sibley Auditorium, UC Berkeley campus


  • George Akerlof, professor of economics (Nobel in economics, 2001)

  • Steven Chu, professor of physics and director of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Nobel in physics, 1997)

  • Donald Glaser, Professor of the Graduate School, molecular and cell biology (Nobel in physics, 1960)

  • Daniel McFadden, Cox Professor of Economics (Nobel in economics, 2000)

  • Charles Townes, Professor of the Graduate School, physics (Nobel in physics, 1964)

Samuel Scheffler, professor of philosophy and of law and UC Berkeley's acting vice-provost for academic affairs, will moderate the panel discussion.

UC Berkeley has been home to 19 Nobel laureates since Ernest O. Lawrence won the university's first in 1939. After the 4:30 discussion, the laureates will answer questions from the audience. Everyone is invited to a reception immediately following.