UC Berkeley News
Press Release

UC Berkeley Press Release

Ten scientists named fellows of AAAS

– Ten University of California, Berkeley, faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the organization announced today (Friday, Oct. 26) in its weekly publication Science.

The 10 were among 471 honored "for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications," according to the article.

The new fellows for 2007 will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 16, at a special forum during the 2008 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

UC Berkeley's new fellows bring the campus total to 205. The new fellows are:

  • Robert L. Fischer, professor of plant and microbial biology, "for distinguished contributions to the study of epigenetic processes through pioneering work on plant gene imprinting, DNA demethylation and Polycomb group proteins."

  • Stephen P. Hinshaw, professor of psychology, "for path-breaking research on the nature and treatment of attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder."

  • Nicholas P. Jewell, professor of biostatistics and statistics, "for seminal contributions to biostatistical methodology and their applications to current health problems and editorial leadership in the statistical sciences."

  • Judith Klinman, professor of chemistry, "for her discovery of protein derived quino-cofactors, demonstration of nuclear tunneling in enzymatic C-H activation, and advances on oxygen activation by enzymes."

  • Mimi A. R. Koehl, professor of integrative biology, "for ground-breaking research in functional morphology, for international research leadership and for her role as a model for women scientists."

  • Richard B. Norgaard, professor of energy and resources, "for path-breaking contributions to environmental and ecological economics and for improving the scientific content of public and policy discourse on sustainability and the future."

  • Kevin Padian, professor of integrative biology and curator of UC Berkeley's Museum of Paleontology, "for distinguished contributions to the study of the vertebrate evolutionary adaptations and especially for his leadership in science education."

  • David A. Patterson, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, "for distinguished contributions to computer architecture and for distinguished leadership of the field."

  • Thomas M. "Zack" Powell, professor of integrative biology, "for innovative interdisciplinary research in biological oceanography, for his role for many years as a leader of the GLOBEC effort and for his international leadership."

  • Randy W. Schekman, professor of molecular and cell biology, "for distinguished contributions to the field of cell biology, particularly for elucidating molecular pathways mediating protein secretion, membrane assembly and vesicle transport by eukaryotic cells."

The AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society, founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science serving 10 million individuals. The tradition of AAAS fellows, who are chosen by their peers, began in 1874.